Oldies but Goodies: Great Books for Fifth Graders

Feeling nostalgic the other day, I made a list of all the books I can remember reading as a child. Then I organized it into what grade I remember being in when I read them. Then I went onto Amazon.com to see how many of them were still in print.

Much to my surprise, most of them were! I do not know if this is because of an innate ability to discover a classic, or just coincidence. 🙂 Either way, I have decided to post now and then about these books, in an effort to KEEP them in print. They are all great choices for home or classroom libraries.

Today, I am listing books that I read in fifth grade. Sadly, three of my favorites were out of print: The Diamond in the Window by Jane Langton (I am still sobbing about this), Cowslip (later titled Slave Girl) by Betsy Haynes, and Magic Elizabeth by Norma Kassirer and Joe Krush (although this one is still available from one of Amazon’s sellers for $85!)

As you will see, my eclectic tastes were evident even then. Most of the books are suitable for both boys and girls, and are all good clean reads. I highly recommend every single one of them. I also recommend any others by the same authors. 

Lest you are concerned that modern children won’t like them as much, I have previously purchased many of these titles for niece/nephew gifts, and so far everyone has loved them, even my nephew who is “not a reader.”

I spent most of this morning trying to figure out how to get Amazon book widgets to post on here, for ease of review (and thought that it would be cool looking), but as you can see, it didn’t happen. The closest I could come was this:

Amazon.com Widgets

If you click on it, you should be able to see the individual titles, and if you click on any of THEM, it will take you to the right page on Amazon, with descriptions and reviews. Although I must say that most of the covers were a lot better looking when I was little.

Happy reading!

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Oldies but Goodies: Great Books for Fifth Graders

  1. I actually don’t know any of those books. I’ll have to take a peek!

Leave a Reply

