Oldies but Goodies: Great Books for First Graders

Time for another installment of my favorite books! Today I’m focusing on first grade. These were books that I enjoyed reading to myself as well as having read to me at bedtime. All are suitable choices for home and classroom libraries, as are any others by these authors.

All listed are still in print, although a few of my favorites are not. The Story of Babar by Jean De Brunhoff was listed as “not available,” so I didn’t link it, but it will hopefully be back in print soon. More Riddles by Bennett Cerf …With more Pictures by Roy McKie has unfortunately gone by the wayside. (What do you call four ducks in a box? A box of quackers!)

Other books I enjoyed that are out of print, but are possibly still available at libraries: Anatole Over Paris by Eve Titus, The Crybaby Calf, by Helen and Alf Evers, Herman the Brave Pig, by Miriam E. Mason, Fierce John, by Edward Fenton, and I Can’t, Said the Ant, by Polly Cameron. 

As before, to see the list, click on:
Amazon.com Widgets

Click on any individual title, and you will go directly to that page on Amazon.com, where you will be able to view the description and reviews.

Happy Reading!

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Oldies but Goodies: Great Books for First Graders

  1. Susan Gainous

    So sad about Herman the Brave Pig. What a great book!

  2. I don’t remember the books I enjoyed at this early age. I do remember loving books, but not specific ones. My memory stinks!

Leave a Reply

