The Cat’s Meow

There is a mini contest over at WEBook.com right now, the prize to which is that the winner gets to enter their PagetoFame Contest for free. Normally, I wouldn’t be too interested, but the catch is that you have to write a 500-word story using only one-syllable words. How could I resist?

Here is my entry:

 

The Gift

 

“You want me to leave?”

“Yes.”

“Fine.” Ed stalked out.

“The door!” Liz called.

He slammed it shut and stormed down the stairs to the street. She heard his car start as she dropped to the couch and leaned her head on the black wool throw. Pained, she closed her eyes. What must he think?

A meow came from the box. She checked the front door to make sure it had latched, and then let the cat roam the room. It had been in that box since last night, for Pete’s sake! How could Ed think that was fine? He sneezed when it was loose, but it was not good to keep it in there like that. What if it pooped? She got up and brought the tray back in from the porch. The cat ran in and did its job. Good thing she’d thought of that!

The phone rang. Liz picked it up and looked at the screen. It was the pound.

“Yes?”

“Miss Peck, I’ve got good news and bad news.”

“Well?”

“I talked to my boss. He said we can take the cat back, but I can’t give you your dough.”

“Why not?” she cried. That care kit she’d had to buy when she chose the stray had not been cheap. “She has not been fixed yet. Why can’t I get that back, at least?”

“You signed the form that said you knew we don’t let folks take strays as gifts. Some folks don’t want a pet like you’d think, and they end up right back at the pound, or worse. It’s hard on the pet. That’s why we make folks sign the form. You broke the rules, so no cash back.”

“Fine. How long will you be there?” she looked at her watch.

“We close at noon.”

“I’ll be there by ten.”

“Thanks, Miss Peck. We’ll see you soon.”

That was that. Liz shook her head. She still did not know why Ed had not told her that he and cats were such a bad mix. He said how much he liked them all the time. She had not known that there was a cause for his lack of one as a pet. She’d thought it was such a great choice for his gift.

“Come on, cat,” she said, and put it back in the box. Its fur was soft, and it was so cute. Liz was sad.

The phone rang once more. It was Ed.

“Hi,” she said. “How’s your nose?”

“Fine, now,” said Ed. “Um, I was rude. The cat was a great gift. I just can’t stand to sneeze all the time!”

“You never said… “ Liz paused. “Please don’t think that it was a joke. I just did not know! You say you like cats so much.”

“I know,” said Ed. “I don’t blame you. I don’t know why I did not tell you. “

“They pound said they’d take it back.”

“Great!” said Ed.

Liz grinned. “Yes.”

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “The Cat’s Meow

  1. Wow, how difficult that must have been! Doing something like this would take way more brain power than I’m capable of on a good day. And certainly would not garner me such good results.

    Nice job!

  2. This would send me to the loony bin!!! My brain hurts thinking about it. Good luck with it 🙂

Leave a Reply

