Oldies but Goodies: Great Books for Seventh Graders

Since the Young Adult book explosion, most librarians have no trouble suggesting good reads for seventh graders. Recent ones. Here are a few that aren’t so recent, but are still at the top of my recommended reading list for that age. I must confess that I have included a few newer titles that weren’t from my childhood at all, but I read them for my grad class, Reading Methods for Adolescents, and they are very good.

A few, like Are You There, God, It’s Me, Margaret seem a little juvenile for today’s sophisticated readers, but are still good books. I was irked to see that several of my seventh grade favorites are listed on Amazon as being for 9-12 year olds, which I disagree with. When they were published, that is not the group they were aimed at. Do you really want your third grader reading about the angst of waiting to get your period? (See my post: Considering Asynchronous Development in Book Selection). Sorry, my unfashionable personal bias is showing.

As usual, to see the list, click on:

Amazon.com Widgets

Touch any individual title, and you will go directly to that page on Amazon.com, where you will be able to view the description and reviews.

Enjoy!

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Oldies but Goodies: Great Books for Seventh Graders

  1. I can see Judy Blume for grade 5 girls nowadays, but not grade 3. Half of the 10 year old girls in my class already get their periods, and they do like her stuff 🙂

  2. mb

    How about the international series TinTin??

Leave a Reply

