Virtually Unlimited

I am one of those people who goes to a library book sale and staggers to my car under the weight of more books than I can hope to read in a year. As I search through the shelves, books with familiar titles and authors seem to leap into my bag, each one more of a find than the last. Boxes under my bed are groaning with them, because my bookcases filled up a long time ago.

I have fantasized about getting a Kindle to satisfy my addiction to old titles, but it is pretty much at the bottom of the list of Things I Can’t Do Without. I knew that Gutenberg.org was a great source for copyright-expired books, but it seemed that I could only read them on their website, while online.

Today, however, I was browsing at Amazon.com and realized that I do not NEED a Kindle to download e-books! Since my laptop is a Macintosh, I was able to select “Kindle for the Mac” and download the application for free. It looks just like a Kindle screen, with the capability of changing text size and turning pages with the tap of a finger. Now I can go to Amazon, or Project Gutenberg, or several other places listed on the welcome page, and download complete books onto my computer to read at my leisure — free older titles OR brand spanking new ones.

I immediately downloaded six books, from The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (for research on a book I’m writing), to Beautiful Joe by Marshall Saunders. That ought to keep me busy for awhile!

Here’s the link (For some reason, clicking on it isn’t working. If you’re interested, you’ll have to copy and paste the address into the url window and hit “return.” Sorry about that!):

http://www.amazon.com/kindle-store-ebooks-newspapersblogs/b/ref=topnav_storetab_kinc?ie=UTF8&node=133141011

3 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

3 responses to “Virtually Unlimited

  1. i just did that for my PC!! I got an email from Amazon and downloaded a free kindle! I was so darn excited! I downloaded a free romance novel!

  2. I haven’t heard of this – very cool! Thanks for the info 🙂

  3. Oh yes, I guess I should have mentioned that on my Kindle Raves. You can use your computer, your iphone or an ipod touch as well. They all have Kindle apps.

    I’m sure you’ll love the ease.

Leave a Reply

