Flash Fiction: Worth My Weight in Gold

WEBook.com is having another mini-contest, where entrants submit a 100 word paragraph written from the point of view of an inanimate household object. Here’s mine:

a

Worth My Weight in Gold

Here I sit, minding my own business, when a sudden squeeze warns me that my world is about to be turned upside down again. Three times a day it happens, without so much as a word of thanks. My partner, Piper Nigrum, thinks he understands, but at least he stays upright. It’s not the same at all. Yesterday, someone actually dropped me. I was lucky nothing broke. I’m still feeling a little shaken. Piper says that he feels needed, and likes the daily grind, but the last thing that I ever want to hear again is, “Please pass the salt.”

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Flash Fiction: Worth My Weight in Gold

  1. Love it!

    I’ll try to keep the use down a bit in our house so as not to shake up life too much for your inanimate object. : )

  2. Cute! I thought “sudden squeeze” was a little misleading — thought it might be a catsup or mustard container. Love the “daily grind” reference!

Leave a Reply

