Going Bananas

I have been waiting impatiently since last week for a box to arrive from Amazon.com. One might presume that it is a book order, and it is, but not the sort of book order one might think. It is a BANANAGRAMS order!!! 

I got the game Bananagrams for my birthday last month, and I love it. First of all, it comes in a zippered banana. Inside are letter tiles similar to Scrabble, but weightier in the hand and ivory smooth. Each person selects some tiles and forms their letters into a crossword. Everyone takes more tiles from the center, as needed, and the other players are forced to do the same until someone’s letters are gone and he/she has an uncontested network of words.

The game is fun, but I also like the companion puzzles included in the instructions. They are simple challenges, such as starting with five words and adding an A to each to make five new words, etc. They are only about a “one” in the difficulty factor, tempting crumbs which lead to the advertisement for the Bananagrams book.

Much to my joy, when I went on Amazon to look for it, I also discovered More Bananagrams, and another game by the same company called Pairs in Pears, which I ordered, too. (There’s another one called Appletters, but I’ll have to wait until Christmas for that.)

All of the items were eligible for Free Super Saver Shipping, but of course, that takes longer.

And so, I wait.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Going Bananas

  1. I don’t know that game – but it sure sounds like fun. I’ll have to check it out. 🙂

  2. Layinda,

    Bananagrams is the bomb. It’s like Scrabble on crack that you can play alone. How addictive is that?!?!?

    I didn’t know it came with a book…sheesh. I know what to do with my gift card!

Leave a Reply

