Oldies but Goodies: Great Books for High School Students

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted an Oldies but Goodies, so here’s one for high school students.

Several of these books are required reading, but it’s surprising how much more enjoyable they are when just read for fun. Most are available at libraries and Amazon.com, some are even on Kindle, all are good. One of them might not be equally enjoyed by both sexes, but frankly, my dear, I don’t give a damn. 😉

A Separate Peace
by John Knowles

A Separate Peace

A Walk Across America
by Peter Jenkins

A Walk Across America

Fahrenheit 451
by Ray Bradbury

Fahrenheit 451

The Three Musketeers
by Alexandre Dumas

The Three Musketeers (Wordsworth Classics)

Gone With the Wind
by Margaret Mitchell

Gone with the Wind

The Great Gatsby
by F. Scott Fitzgerald

The Great Gatsby

To Kill a Mockingbird
by Harper Lee
To Kill a Mockingbird (Harper Perennial Modern Classics)

The Chronicles of Narnia Series
by C.S. Lewis
(These seem like entirely different books when read at the high school level)

Watership Down
by Richard Adams

Watership Down: A Novel

The Best Short Stories of O. Henry
Edited by Bennett Cerf

The Best Short Stories of O. Henry (Modern Library)

All Creatures Great and Small
by James Herriot

All Creatures Great and Small
4 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous, Reading, Recommended Reading, Uncategorized

4 responses to “Oldies but Goodies: Great Books for High School Students

  1. You’ve got some of my favourites on here! Fahrenheit 451, To Kill a Mockingbird and It Shouldn’t Happen to a Vet series. I laughed my way through all Herriott’s books – great stuff!

    I never really enjoyed Narnia for some reason – and I thought Gatsby was okay. I liked the Musketeers too.

    It’s so interesting to see how our tastes are different , yet similar 🙂

  2. Pingback: World Wide News Flash

  3. Great list, Layinda.

    I can just picture my Eldest reading Gone with the Wind. I think he’d go into a coma.

    He loved the Narnia books, and read them all in the sixth grade. He just finished To Kill a Mockingbird this year in English and loved it.

    I would add Of Mice and Men and The Jungle. I really enjoyed those back in the day.

    Thanks for putting this together.

  4. Tina

    Narnia! Gone with the Wind, Three Musketeers, and of course Watership Down! What about Lord of the Rings? my personal #1. BTW in teen fiction, the Warrior Cats series has been really a good, light read.

Leave a Reply

