Return the Heart: Follow-up Review

Return the Heart by T.K. Richardson: Book Cover

I stayed up late last night to finish Return the Heart, the YA debut novel by T.K. Richardson. It was a good story filled with adventure, intrigue and a dash of romance, and I liked it a lot. The action was fast paced, the characters easy to identify with, and there were some clever plot twists. I particularly liked the way the author seamlessly worked in a little Russian history and folklore.

Ms. Richardson co-opts the teen angst of no one understands, and puts Lilly, the protagonist, into the Utopian situation of discovering peers who not only “get” her, but are so in tune that they don’t need to use words. Their parents exist, but are largely incidental, the five friends enjoying the freedom and self direction that teenagers only dream about. While combatting kidnappers, double agents and Russian prophesies, the romance between Lilly and Seth blossoms, as does her friendship with his sister, Claire.

I ended up with the feeling that the Fantastic Five will soon be involved in another Russian adventure, with Lilly’s connections to the past proving more complex than first thought. I hope so, anyway, because I want to read it. 🙂

Click here to see the Middle of the Book Review (including summary)

6 Comments

Filed under Book Reviews, Miscellaneous, Reading, Recommended Reading, Uncategorized

6 responses to “Return the Heart: Follow-up Review

  1. Wow! Thank you for the great review! And I’m so pleased that you like the book. 🙂 (And yes, there is a second one in the series…) Also, can I post your review on my blog?

  2. Sounds like an interesting read. I always worry about the absent or incidental parents in teen books though. Still sounds like it would be a fun read. Thanks for sharing your thoughts.

  3. I haven’t got my copy yet, but I can’t wait!! 🙂

  4. Great review Layinda. I’m excited to read the next one too. Off to read your mid-way review too. 😉

  5. I think you’re very right about more Russion intrigue. I’m with you on the TK bandwagon. Can’t wait to read the next novel.

Leave a Reply

