So Little Time, So Many Writing Tasks

Is anyone else feeling bogged down with reading/writing activities right now?

Me:
(not necessarily in this order)

1. Finish reading the library book that I have been squeezing in between other time commitments, because it is due on Sunday and I’ve already renewed it the maximum number of times.

2. Complete the critique of a manuscript for two critique partners who have co-authored a novel (I’m only on page 35).

3. Rewrite my query letter (again!), this time baldly including the fact that my manuscript is really two stories that alternate throughout the novel.

4.“Attend” WriteOnCon for the next three days.

5. Finish reading Cry the Beloved Country. (My book group discussed it last evening, but I had only managed to get to page 104.)

6. Start reading next month’s book group novel (Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society).

7. Get back to either of the two manuscripts I’m in the middle of working on, which haven’t seen the light of day in months.

8. Read/comment on writer friends’ blogs.

9. Lurk on AQConnect.

10. Write my blog posts for the week.

I have been randomly chipping away at these tasks, but today decided to make a schedule and stick to it, at least until I can get the critiquing and reading under control.

What do YOU do when overload strikes?

9 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous, Uncategorized, Writing

9 responses to “So Little Time, So Many Writing Tasks

  1. I’m completely overwhelmed as well. Life is crazy. I finally returned my books to the library yesterday – and paid the late fine for the same reason 🙂

    I’ve decided not to blog for the next bit – between WriteOnCon and heading out of town for a few days, it’s just not going to work.

    Good luck in keeping up with it all! 🙂

  2. Pingback: Tweets that mention So Little Time, So Many Writing Tasks « Layinda's Blog -- Topsy.com

  3. I think it’s the transition to fall-type activities that is making things so hectic.

    Hope you’re able to log onto WriteOnCon okay. A lot of people (including me) are just getting an error message. Luckily, Elana’s posting all the vlogs, etc., on her site, but I can’t access the forums or chats. 😦

  4. Crawl into the fetal position in a dark corner?

    Seriously, I’m in the overwhelmed boat with you and it appears as if we don’t have any paddles.

    Best luck getting your list done.

  5. I feel your pain. I’ve all but cut out television and a social life, and I still don’t have enough time. Then, I go and increase my teaching load. But, you know what? We wouldn’t have it any other way.

  6. Sounds like we’re all in the same boat. Whatever happened to the lazy days of summer? My method of dealing with it all (aside from vodka) is to do what you just did — make a list. I don’t use it as a guide or anything. But somehow just making a detailed list of what’s expected of me (actually, you should read that as “what I am expecting of myself”) is cathartic enough to relieve the false sense of urgency I created. And then I start plugging away at whatever feels good at the moment — unless there’s something on that list that promises an actual, verifiable paycheck when it’s done.

    • I agree that making a list works. Writing things down seems to shift them to the “do it” part of the brain, and somehow everything usually falls into place.

Leave a Reply

