Out of the Office

Friday evening I am going to my very first writer’s conference, hosted by the local chapter of the SCBWI (Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators). It promises to be a smallish affair, but will have one big-name agent and several editors in attendance, with a good line-up of break-out sessions on Saturday. Sadly, I’m almost as excited about the dinner menu and the plated luncheon as I am about the event itself, but there it is.

As well as getting my manuscript into tip-top shape and putting a portfolio of artwork together for the Illustrator Showcase, I’m trying to pin down some of the more practical aspects of attending such an event. What does one wear? Should I add the book title and hook to my business cards? What about adding a gimmick (in the form of a cool origami corner bookmark) to each of the cards?

To get the answers to some of these questions, I posted the last three concerns to Agent Query Connect and got some good advice from conference veterans. (Business casual, the title and hook are a good idea, and if the bookmark might be more annoying than appealing, ditch it.) For the rest, I discovered a wonderful blog post written by Anne R. Allen, WRITERS CONFERENCE TIPS: 10 Dos and Don’ts, and a helpful interview by Ginny Wiehardt that provides an editor’s views on the subject.

In addition, I found a great leather bag to carry that has pockets for my laptop, manuscript samples and portfolio, in addition to room for normal purse items such as pens and makeup. It is black, with a zippered top and big silver buckles on the front. With it, I feel slightly invincible – not a bad quality to have when introducing oneself to intimidating people like agents and editors.

I would normally blog on Friday or Saturday, but since I’ll be at the conference then, I will let you know how things turned out on Monday. Have a great week! 🙂

2 Comments

Filed under Miscellaneous, Uncategorized, Writing

2 responses to “Out of the Office

  1. You will have so much fun! And with a leather bag like that you should feel invincible. 🙂 I can’t wait to hear how it went, who you met, and what you learned. Take notes -for all of us and have fun. 🙂

  2. Enjoy! An invincible bag is great! We need a little security to hide behind in something as major as a first writers’ conference–especially when meeting with bigwigs!

    Best of luck, I know you will do fine and look forward to hearing how it went.

Leave a Reply

