Thankful Thoughts

As a writer who has yet to snag an agent, it might be assumed that I have little to be thankful for in that department. But that would be wrong.

Ten Writerly Things I Am Thankful for This Year:

1. I have written an entire novel and my target audience seems to like it.

2. I’ve learned so much about writing and the business since this time last year that my next manuscript will probably be a lot easier to edit.

3. I am thankful for the existence of Twitter and Facebook, from which I’ve gotten leads on some great blog posts that have educated and entertained me.

4. I have met some wonderful critique partners who have helped me see my manuscript in a new light, and I’ve enjoyed reading and commenting on theirs.

5. It’s been a lot of fun starting and maintaining my blog. (Just passed the ten month mark!)

6. I got to attend my first online writer’s conference (WriteOnCon) as well as my first in-person one (Northern Ohio SCBWI), and had a great time at both.

7. I have finally wrestled my query into decent shape, which has resulted in a number of partial and full requests.

8. Jim and Jack is about ten times better now than it was a year ago, due to the aforementioned accrued knowledge and critiquing.

9. You can’t fix what you don’t know until you do know it. I have finally realized that while criticism can sting, it can also be your best friend.

10. I have happily discovered that reading bad writing and recognizing what makes it bad is the easiest way to avoid it in your own writing.


Now, please pass the stuffing. And have a happy and safe Thanksgiving. 🙂

3 Comments

Filed under Critical Thinking, Miscellaneous, Uncategorized, Writing

3 responses to “Thankful Thoughts

  1. Layinda, these are all great things to be thankful for. Congratulations on the partials and fulls! 🙂

  2. Love this post! Yes, whether we’re agented or not (I’m not), there is so much to be thankful for. I’m just thankful I’m in the game, since writing is such a joy.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

  3. We don’t do Thanksgiving here but I hope you had a great one.
    Lovely post.

Leave a Reply

