Resolving to be Resolute

New Year’s resolutions are highly controversial. Some people love to make them, while others avoid them like the swine flu.

I’ve heard that having specific goals helps one to actually keep them. “I will lose ten pounds” is better than “I need to lose some weight.” Writing them down is supposed to help, too. And you can’t expect success if you make resolutions that involve things beyond your control, like,“I will get published this year.” (Unless, of course, your plan is to self publish.)

I usually resolve to do a few things that I’m likely to do anyway, but am largely unaware of my success or failure because I tend to forget about them. This year, I’m writing them down, from easiest to hardest:

1. I resolve to exercise more. There, I just did a sit-up. Mission accomplished.

2. I resolve to turn off TweetDeck while I write to limit distractions and maximize output.

3. I resolve to write for at least 30 minutes every day whether I feel like it or not.

I’ll let you know.

Have a happy New Year, and I hope all of your resolutions come true.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Resolving to be Resolute

  1. Those are good ones! I never make resolutions – they just don’t work for me.
    Enjoy 2011 – may it bring you lots of joy and wonder 🙂

Leave a Reply

