Layinda’s Blog Turns One

Yesterday was the first anniversary of Layinda’s Blog. (Just for the record, I would have come up with a snappier title, but I didn’t realize when creating it that the title is the one thing in the format that can’t be changed later.) (Unless there’s something I don’t know about, which is entirely possible.)

I have nothing but good things to say about writing a blog, and can highly recommend it. Over the course of this year, I have figured out how to insert images, how to link to other sites, and how to use “keywords” effectively. I started out posting Monday through Friday, but when real life intervened, I realized that I wrote better posts if I did them as inspired, rather than on demand. I also think that writing on a regular basis has helped me to become a better and more efficient writer. In short, I’ve grown.

Thanks to EVERYONE who has visited, and special thanks to those who have left comments. If there are any particular topics anyone would like me to address in the coming year, or if there are any things I already do that you’d like to see more of, feel free to mention that in today’s comments, and I will do my best.

At the end of 2010, WordPress sent out each blog’s statistics for the year, and I thought I’d share a few of mine (below). I suspect that they give all the new blogs a “wow” rating, but I never look a gift horse in the mouth. (Hmmm, just thought of a new idea for a post…)

Thanks again, everybody, for making Layinda’s Blog such a pleasure to produce. I couldn’t have done it without you. 🙂

Here are the stats:

Happy New Year from WordPress.com! To kick off the year, we’d like to share with you data on how your blog has been doing. Here’s a high level summary of your overall blog health:

Blog-Health-o-Meter Wow

Blog-Health-o-Meter™

We think you did great!

Crunchy numbers

A Boeing 747-400 passenger jet can hold 416 passengers. This blog was viewed about 3,900 times in 2010. That’s about 9 full 747s.
(Author’s Note: The official anniversary number was 3997 – I’d hoped it would hit 4000 in time for the big day, but that was close enough for me! 😉 )

In 2010, you wrote 133 new posts, not bad for the first year! You uploaded 7pictures, taking up a total of 7mb.

Your busiest day of the year was June 1st with76 views. The most popular post that day wasGreat Guy, Great Book, Great Advice: Part 1.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were twitter.com,facebook.comblogger.com,jemifraser.blogspot.com, andcatwoods.wordpress.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly forsmiling hurtsbooks for young advanced readersblogs for parents of advanced readersage appropriate book lists, and ty roth author.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010. You can see all of the year’s most-viewed posts and pages in your Site Stats.

1

Great Guy, Great Book, Great Advice: Part 1April 2010
1 comment

2

Young Advanced Readers: An Age Appropriate Book List for Puzzled ParentsApril 2010
1 comment

3

About
1 comment

4

Ghost from the Past: Elements of the Modern NovelMay 2010
4 comments

5
To Critique or Not to CritiqueApril 2010
6 comments
2 Comments

Filed under Critical Thinking, Miscellaneous, Reading, Recommended Reading, Uncategorized, Writing

2 responses to “Layinda’s Blog Turns One

Leave a Reply

